RSS

My great grandparents

01 Dec

My Father’s, Fathers parents were Dr. Joseph Leroy Murphy (born Oct. 7, 1886 died Aug. 14, 1973) Joseph had been at one time Chief of staff and Chief of Surgery at Morton Plant Hospital. He was a WWI veteran. His wife was Ruth Frances Gough Murphy (born Feb. 3, 1888 died May 7, 1976). She was an art teacher and many of her painting are spread throughout the family. She was a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Art in Boston and a former pupil of Artists Margaret Fitzhugh Brown and Charles Lamb.

Their children were Dr. Joseph Murphy who died in 1965 at age 43, David, Robert (my grandfather), Richard, and John (Uncle Jack).

My Father’s Mother’s parents were Charles Albert Seekell (born Sept. 26, 1899 died Sept. 29, 1997). He was an electrician. His wife was Mary (May) McAloon (born May 20, 1899 died May of 1941). I need to speak with my Grandmother about her Mother. I believe my Grandmother was a teenager when she passed.  **I spoke with my Grandmother on Christmas day.  She did not know the exact date, but knew her mother died in May of 1941, when she was 15 years old.  **

Their children were Jeannette Seekell (my Grandmother) and Charles Seekell, Jr.

My Mother’s Father’s parents were John Cunha and Olive Dias Cunha. According to Census records they both should have been born in 1906, but so far any other search for them has been unsuccessful.

There Children were Russell, Margaret, Clarence (Buster), John Jr., Gilbert (my Grandfather), Roger, and Carol.

My Mother’s Mother’s parents were Fredrick Thomas Whittle (born Jan. 12, 1893 died June 29, 1947). He was a WWI veteran. His wife was Jeanette T. Hall Whittle (born Jan. 12, 1903 died May 1973. They were married some time in 1923.

There children were Roy, Jeannette, Margaret (my Grandmother), Mary Louise (my Grandmother’s twin), and William.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2012 in Cunha Family, Murphy Family

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “My great grandparents

  1. Ann Marie

    December 4, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    Jess, Mary McAloon Seekell died in 1941. She is buried in st. Francis cemetery in Taunton along with her husband Charles Albert, her parents Daniel and Annie (Flangheddy) McAloon and your grandfather Robert Murphy. I think I have a picture of the gravestone somewhere. I will try to dig it out for you

    Like

     
  2. Jeanne Murphy McGlynn

    December 4, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Uncle Joseph died in 1965 not 1945

    Like

     
    • vijdmommy

      December 4, 2012 at 5:22 pm

      Thank you Auntie Jeanne. That was published somewhere, but I have to admit I haven’t done extensive research on Aunts and Uncles yet.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
